Near Washington’s Headquarters is the Valley Forge Train Station, now owned by the park. The station was completed in 1911 by the Reading Railroad and was the point of entry to the park for travelers who came by rail through the 1950s from Philadelphia, 23.7 miles (38.1 km) distant. The station was recently[when?] restored and is now being used as a museum and information center that offers visitors a better understanding of Washington’s Headquarters and the village of Valley Forge. Constructed of the same type stone as Washington’s Headquarters, the building was erected on a large man-made embankment overlooking the headquarters site.
Matt Steigerwalt – Valley Forge, PA – Sony DSC-H1